

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

April 26, 2019

Finalists Selected for the 2019 ADEQ Environmental Awards

NORTH LITTLE ROCK—Finalists have been selected for the 2019 Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) Environmental Awards. This year marks the 15th annual Arkansas Environmental Stewardship (ENVY) Award, the 4th annual Arkansas Environmental Technology (TECHe) Award, and the 3rd annual Arkansas Energy Excellence (E²) Award. This is the 2nd year that the ADEQuest Science Award will be presented.

The winners of these awards will be announced by Governor Asa Hutchinson and ADEQ Director Becky Keogh at a ceremony on May 7th, 2019, beginning at 11:15 a.m. in the Governor's Conference Room at the State Capitol Building in Little Rock.

The 2019 ENVY Award finalists are: Clearwater Paper, Southwestern Sales Company, and Specialized Real Estate Group. The ENVY Award recognizes a major effort by an individual or organization to enhance and protect Arkansas's natural resources through sustainability programs and commitments to stewardship of the environment.

The 2019 TECHe Award finalists are: eSCO Processing and Recycling, Hino Motors Manufacturing, and Husqvarna Group. The TECHe Award recognizes the advances or innovative use of technology that breaks new ground in protecting resources or improving the environment by going beyond traditional environmental control measures, approaches, or outcomes.

The 2019 E^2 Award finalists are: Big River Steel, CLEAResult Consulting, and Craighead Electric Cooperative. The E^2 Award recognizes organizations that demonstrate outstanding leadership by implementing forward-thinking initiatives in areas of energy efficiency and resilience.

The ADEQuest Science Award will be presented to Anusha Bhattacharyya and Little Rock Central High School. The ADEQuest Science Award showcases the next generation's quest for advancements in environmental protection and sustainable energy.

Last year, Delta Plastics was awarded the ENVY Award, the City of Fayetteville took home the TECHe Award, Arkansas Rural Internet Service was the recipient of the E² Award, and Meghana Bollimpalli and Little Rock Central High School were presented the ADEQuest Science Award.

CONTACT: press@adeq.state.ar.us